X.509 Certificate Service in EnOS™

EnOS provides the X.509 Certificate Service to enforce X.509 certificate-based bi-directional authentication for all communication sessions between the EnOS Edge and IoT Hub.

In cryptography, X.509 is a standard that defines the format of the public key certificate, which is an electronic document used to prove the ownership of a public key. The X.509 certificate is defined by the RFC5280 standard. X.509 certificates are issued by a trusted entity of the Public-key Infrastructure (PKI) called Certification Authority (CA).

Certificate-based authentication has the following benefits over other identification and authentication mechanisms.
  • Asymmetric keys, which ensure that sensitive cryptographic material never leaves the devices.
  • Stronger client authentication.

There are several concepts you need to know before you start to use the X.509 Certificate Service:
  • Public-key Infrastructure (PKI), is a set of roles, policies, and procedures that are needed to create, manage, distribute, use, store, and revoke digital certificates and manage public-key encryption.
  • Certification Authority (CA), is an entity that issues digital certificates.
  • Certificate signing request (CSR), is a message sent from the certificate applicant to the certificate authority to apply for an X.509 certificate.
  • Certificate Revocation List (CRL), is a time-stamped list that maintains the revoked certificates of the CA.

The EnOS X.509 Certificate Service provides the following functions:
  • Retrieving the root CA certificate
  • Retrieving the certification revocation list

Therefore, the IoT hub can get and revoke X.509 certificates for securing the communication between devices and the cloud.

Three functions are available through REST APIs in IoT hub.